MOVIE TIME: SUICIDE SQUAD (2016)

Let me just start by saying that I’m not the biggest fan DC Comics movies fan. I mean I barely even see any, if I’m being completely honest. Maybe that’s why it took me so long to see this one as well. That, and the bad reviews.

Basically what this movie is about is this group of villains put together by Amanda Waller in order to protect the United States from meta-humans (even though among them there are also meta-humans???). The task force would include: Deadshot, Diablo, Harley Quinn, Captain Boomerang, Killer Croc and The Enchantress.

Image result for suicide squad

However, Amanda isn’t able to control The Enchantress so she escapes, resurrects her brother and plans to take over the world. They all come together, save the world, go back to prison. Yadda, yadda, yadda. (So, it’s basically Amanda Waller’s fault for everything that happened.)

Oh, and the Joker appears too. In the flashbacks Harley Quinn has and at the end when she saves her.


Now, as I said, I am not the biggest fan of DC movies, I am more of a MCU type of girl, but I tried to keep an open mind about this movie. Mostly because I think Will Smith, Viola Davis and Margot Robbie are really good actors.

Now I’m not gonna lie, my favorites were Will Smith, Margot Robbie and Jay Hernandez. I liked what they did with the characters and I hope to see more of them. So, they didn’t let me down. Hell, I even liked Jared Leto even though I didn’t see much of him.

Image result for suicide squad movie screenshots

Now when it comes to Cara Delevingne and The Enchantress… That’s a whole different story. What the hell was that? I’m not sure if it was the actress or the effects, but that was one hot mess… It made me cringe just looking at it. I don’t know much about the character but I’m pretty sure it’s nothing like that. I hope it’s nothing like that… That weird sounding voice and that wiggly hand movement… It reminded me of that mummy (or whatever was that) from Courage the Cowardly Dog. You know what I’m talking about. (If you don’t here’s the link to it.)

Image result for suicide squad enchantress screenshot

Another thing that seemed kinda forced in this movie were the jokes. It felt like they were trying to be funny like Marvel, but failed miserably. Like that kid in school who hears a joke all people laugh at and then repeats the joke hoping he’ll get the same response. And you just feel bad for him.

However, I will say that the soundtrack was pretty cool. Loved it. And as I mentioned before, there were some characters that made it worth watching. I might even give another DC movie a try.

Verdict: Return the squaaaaad…

Image result for return the slab gif

Did you like this movie? What other DC movie have you seen and would recommend?

Alex D.

 

Leave a Reply

