Romania Travel

Check out this article about Romania lovely Steph wrote based on some questions she asked me! It’s really good! 😀

romania

Oh Romania! Setting for Bram Stockers majestically famous Dracula. The archetypal vampire Count Dracula, created by Bram Stoker, was inspired by the Romanian prince Vlad Tepes, also known as Vlad the Impaler because he was rather fond of impaling his enemies and standing them along the roads. Sounds like a swell guy!

But there is so much more to Romania then Vlad Tepes and spooky vampire castles. Brascov the capital of Ramonia is also home to  The Black Church which has the largest organ in Europe, with 4000 tubes. You can also find in Brascov the largest Gothic church between Vienna, Austria and Istanbul, Turkey. And also worth mentioning is that Romania is the worlds ninth largest wine producer.

These points are only a few of thousands of interesting facts about this ancient country set in South Eastern Europe. I must admit my knowledge of Romania is very limited and before…

View original post 1,131 more words

6 thoughts on “Romania Travel

  1. Nice one 🙂 I have spent some weeks in Romania a couple of years ago and really loved it. The people are amazing and the stereotypes and prejudices I´ve heard from the people in my own country (Slovakia) proved to be completely false…I didn´t have time to travel that much around back then since I was helping at an archaeological site in the mountains, but I am definitely planning to go back again!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I was staying near Miercurea Ciuc (not sure if I got the spelling right) and visited Brasov a couple of times while there, but otherwise, I have only visited a small village Nadlak on the borders with Hungary, it is a remnant of old slovak population and I went there to do some research on slovak traditions abroad 🙂 Not sure that counts as visiting Romania since the people there are Slovaks and Hungarians 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It´s not like Miercurea Ciuc would be a great tourist site 😀 we´ve been working nearby, closer to a village called Pauleni Ciuc I think. It was beautiful, although we stayed one place, we had a better chance to hang out with the people from the community who come help to the site in the weekends and so, I liked that. Also, the mountains made sure we had a great view.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

