MOVIE TIME: TAKING WOODSTOCK (2009)

It’s been a while since I posted a movie review, or since I posted anything, really. I’ve been busy lately so I barely find time to relax and post something.

Taking Woodstock is a movie I saw some time ago and it is obviously about the famous festival Woodstock. Actually about how and where the festival took place.

The film follows the true story of Elliot Tiber, whose parents owned a small motel, close to bankruptcy, called El Monaco Resort. Because of financial problems and being close to forclosure, Elliot plans to organize a small music festival in the town in order for people to come and seek accommodation to their motel. However, when he finds out that the organizers from Woodstock no longer had a location for their festival, he offers his permit and accommodation to Michael Lang, while the location is provided by Eliot’s neighbor.

Of course, thanks to the high number of people coming in for the festival, Eliot and the organizers face various problems: from troubles with the locals to lack of accommodation and traffic jams.

The ending is pretty obvious, since everyone knows how the festival ended.

What I liked about this movie was the fact that it didn’t necessarily followed the story of Woodstock itself, but rather the story of Eliot and his crazy idea of “taking Woodstock”. Not only did it change his life, but also his parents’ lives and the lives of everyone who participate to the festival.

I’ll be honest, this was not necessarily “my type of movie”, but I really enjoyed it. It was great to see how people, young people lived back then, how free they seemed to be and how much they enjoyed life. I almost wished I was there.

I definitely recommend it: 7/10

Alex D.

Leave a Reply

