How to make yourself feel better when you’re sad

I got some bad news today and I was feeling kind of down because of it, so I had to do something and pick myself up. As I was trying to put a smile on my face I was thinking thsat I could share my “wisdom”  with you all on how to make yourself feel better. I know it’s smiliar to my previous post 10 things that make me happy but here it goes…

1. Listen to music

When I say listen to music I don’t mean listen to sad songs. I repeat: DO NOT LISTEN TO SAD SONGS! It will only make you feel worse. Listen to songs that make you wanna dance, songs the make you feel powerful and make you believe that everything will get better.

2. Sing and dance

Shake it off! Shake everything negative off! Like I previously said put on some music and listen to it. Once you get that feeling of energy and power and let your inner singer do its thing! Shake it like you just don’t care!

3. Call your best friend

Call your best friend and vent to her about everything and anything! You will feel better after that

4. Watch your favourite film or tv series

Watching your favourite film or your favourite episodes from your favourite tv series is always a good idea! It will take your mind off of your problems even if just for a while.

5. Treat yourself!

I know this is a The Office reference but I couldn’t help myself. When you’re feeling sad what better way to lift yourself up than order your favourite kind of pizza, drink some wine, put some make up, dress up or whatever you like to do to make yourself feel better?

And last but not least don’t allow negativity take over your life! Think happy thoughts, people! After all, it’s all about being happy, right?

Alex D.

4 thoughts on “How to make yourself feel better when you’re sad

  1. I love this! Music and dancing are sure fire ways to lift my mood. And singing along with the songs of course. Right now Uptown Funk immediately lifts my mood every time. Well done!

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on spencesgirl and commented:
    This morning Michigan temps have dropped into the 40’s. It actually hailed here this morning. It’s cold, it’s damp and I feel achy. Rather than let it bring me down, I decided to apply these principles on How to make yourself feel better when you’re sad. This is from a blog I just started following – it’s creative and positive! In fact I’m setting a Happy Playlist up today and plan to shake off any blues!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

